Differences

John saw fun. I saw frivolous. John saw a good grip & fun to use. Me? Cumbersome & unnecessary. I prefer function over form; John prefers both with a fondness for form. Give me a solid metal peeler any day! I was about to articulate my annoyance as he beamed about this purchase when something occurred to me…

We had a teeny tiny budget to replace our broken peeler. John respected that amount & did the best he could out of that. It isn’t better or worse than the metal one I would have picked. It’s just different; it’s John’s version of fun. Have to admit, the peeler is kinda cute!

There needs to be common ground of course (e.g. our budget). But for most things, there’s always room to appreciate each others’ unique perspective. Opposites may attract but it’s hard to build a fulfilling marriage unless we learn to love those differences.

(PS: John insists I tell you that he puts the “fun” into “function”. Oh brother! *facepalm* LOL!)

This entry was posted in Home, marriage, Pursuit of Happiness, Thrifty Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

